He Was My Future… So I Thought!

HE WAS MY FUTURE!” So, I thought. And in my heart, I was certain he was my husband and I was his Mrs. Already predetermined, I set up a tent and lived in the idea. Ten years ahead, I established that I would have his last name, with three kids whose names started with the letter Z and we’d all live in an amazing town home, while doing the work and ministry of the Lord together. I yielded my mind to the arms of a fantasy which made me invite the imagination of who I thought could be my future husband. I had a bad case of the “could be’s”, which later down the line caused me to be a victim of several unhealthy verbal and emotional abusive relationships.

     But even in this futuristic ideology, where was God? How could He let me go through this emotional rollercoaster that I was on? “Did I guard my heart enough? Was I living out the very thing that my heart wanted?” These were questions that I posed to myself. It took me a little over four years to understand that I was I trying to live out my own desired future in the now. I was trying to modify the will of God for what I thought was for me. Proverbs 4:23 says “Above all else, guard your heart for everything you do comes from it.” I had to acknowledge that I wasn’t guarding my heart. I had to repent and deliberately turn away from my desires, rehearse the Word of the Lord and do my best to live out each scripture.

 

124341639682897515_at9yjN6K_c

 

      As human beings, we have the tendency to let our guard down for our own desires, go ahead of God and possibly end up right back where we started. When we go before God and serve our cravings unintentionally, we tend to live our future season in the present season which alters or creates a spiritual wormhole. “A wormhole is defined as a theoretical passage through space-time that could create shortcuts for long journeys across the universe. But be wary, wormholes bring with them the dangers of sudden collapse, high radiation and dangerous contact with exotic matters” (Redd, 2017). This epidemic causes one to worry about things that were one may not be prepared for to be taken care of in specific seasons. The Word of the Lord says “Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Today has enough trouble of its own. The reason why we are so overwhelmed is because we are trying to take care of tomorrows problems in today’s timing” Matthew 6:34.

     Today, I challenge you to focus on the now in your today and not worry about the things of tomorrow. But you may wonder, well how do I apply something so simple to a busy lifestyle? How can I not worry about the next day? Well I’m here to tell you that God would not have allowed that to be in His Word if He knew that it could not be accomplished. You must intentionally relinquish the amount of worry that you carry. You must deliberately think on God’s Word, meditating day and night.

“Study this Book of Instruction continually. Meditate on it day and night so you will be sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do. This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go” Joshua 1:8.

God’s Word is “a lamp unto your feet and a guide unto your path way” Psalms 119:105.
By: Ashley Necole Service

AshleyServicebio

Leave a comment